Daddy knows best … apparently

Once a week Little Miss and I attend Space – a support program designed to facilitate connections with other new parents and their babies whilst exploring developmental milestones through baby’s first year.  Each week has a designated topic linked to activities such as singing, reading and craft. It’s brilliant and we love it!

Recently we covered the topic of “What does baby hear?” and we went around the room stating what our baby seems to respond positively to.  To be honest, I hadn’t really thought about Little Miss’s preferences regarding music until then, so last night we did a bit of experimenting before bedtime.

NIH suggested I start with the song we’d played for her a few times in the womb. We’d tried out a few and hadn’t really found one we liked (ok, one that we agreed on) so I had to ask him to specify.

“Metallica,” he said in an “of course” tone.

“‘Enter Sandman’? ” I scoffed.  “I don’t think that’s really a suitable lullaby.”

“Yes it is,” he replied, “Go on, try it.” then went off for a shower.

Muttering to myself that father, in this case, does NOT know best, I totally ignored him and started playing a selection of songs from a recent Facebook post I’d saved called “17 songs to help settle your baby that won’t drive parents mental” .

She stopped whinging to listen to Snow Patrol’s “Chasing Cars” and didn’t seem to mind Pearl Jam’s “Just Breathe” but to be honest, I don’t think she could have cared less about Jeff Buckley’s rendition of “Hallelujah”, no matter how soulful it sounded.

NIH came back into the room.

“Did you try it?” he asked.

“Pffft. No!” I replied.

[Cue baby starting to arc up again]

NIH looked at me and raised his eyebrows in that way only he knows how. It says “I’m right. You know I’m right. I’m not going to argue with you or force you to comply but still … I’m right.”

I sighed (loudly) and with no grace whatsoever found the song on YouTube and pressed play.

The little bugger shut up instantly.

“Just a coincidence!” I grumbled under my breath, avoiding his smug smile.  To prove my point, I flipped back to the next suggested song on my baby lullaby playlist – Coldplay’s “The Scientist”.

Turns out she hates Coldplay. With a passion. And she’s not afraid to demonstrate it.

“Bloody co-conspirators,” I grumbled and switched back to Metallica, whereupon she went back to sucking peacefully on her dummy with a drowsy stare that signals sleep is on the way.

NIH and I smiled delightedly at each other … this could be fun …

I’m not ashamed to say we toyed with our daughter’s emotions last night, flipping back and forth between the two songs and watching her reactions. It was, without a word of a lie, freakin’ hilarious.

She’d settle right down for “Sleep with one eye open; gripping your pillow tight” then start the wind up for “Nobody said it was easy“.

I’ve given birth to a heavy metal freak. Daddy does know best after all.

Leave a Reply

