Moving out

Wellington Airport

Wellington Airport

So. Here we are. Setting ourselves up for a life in New Zealand. How long for? Not too sure – could be as little as three years or for the ‘term of our natural lives’. The future is too hard to guess at so let’s just go with “for now” and move on.

I’m fairly experienced with the practice of moving. From the time I left home at 18, I’ve lived just about all over Australia. Born in Dubbo, I’ve lived in (in chronological order) Ballina, Canberra, Brisbane, Sydney, Darwin, Ballina, Bunbury, Carnarvon (WA town, not Central Queensland Gorge), Emerald, Yeppoon, Emerald. And now Hamilton, New Zealand.

But wait – there’s more! I’ve also moved houses within some of those towns, bringing the total number of times I’ve packed up and cleaned a house a grand total of 14.

NIH and I had discussed the possibility of moving overseas to work and experience the adventure of another culture but it was along the same lines as “What would we do if we won Lotto?”. It’s something you speculate about but deep down never imagine actually happening.

Funny how things come about though. It started with yet another explosively hot summer in Central Queensland – a terribly common occurrence and the older I get, the less patience I have dealing with it. I was looking to get away from the heat and NIH’s free spirit was feeling a little hemmed in, even though he loves his job and all his family are in the area.

I started looking at ways to get us out of town i.e. a ‘regular’ job back in libraries in another location. Of course, library jobs are like hen’s teeth so pickings were slim and I’ve been out of the game for a few years. Then one day I get a text from NIH – a job was being advertised in New Zealand. Basically, the same job he was already doing. Should he go for it? Hell, yes! It ticked both boxes – it was cooler and not where we were.

Leave a Reply

