Change is good … right?

digital colour uglist dog

Copy of Bruce Whatley’s ‘Ugliest Dog in the World’ for Illustration assignment

For years I studied for first my library degree and then graduate diploma in information studies whilst raising small, incessantly noisy children.
We shifted a fair bit so I waited patiently in each new town for a library staff member to retire, leave … or die. Finally, I scored the job as manager of a library service, stretching across 10 branches and 60,000 square kilometres of Central Queensland.

And then I quit.

Well, ok. There was a tad more to it than that.
I underwent massive personal growth (read: shitty shitty times) and decided that what I needed to get me through was to study again. Study is my happy place.
Originally, it was going to be something boring but useful like bookkeeping.

But then I spied the CATC school’s online Graphic Design course … which is why I now work from home as a graphic designer and proofreader.

Change is hard. Very hard. But ultimately, it is a good thing.

What’s this blog about? I’m really not sure, to tell you the truth.  I can tell you what I want it to be.  Funny and … huh.  That’s probably about it.

And possibly I’ll throw a few arty things in, just to make it look like I’m creative (like the illustration above that I did with pencil then scanned and coloured just to play around with Photoshop a little) when actually, what I do best is putting together dry old documents and bedazzling them just a little so people won’t want to slit their wrists when they have to pretend to read them. I’m good at that.  I’m also good at being a grammar nazi, but that’s a whole other post.

Leave a Reply

